RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Clarence Miguel to the Election Board for a Five-Year Term Ending July 31, 2017)

RESOLUTION NO. 13-394

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to "provide for,		
2		appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers		
3		of committees, boards, officers and agents (Article VI, Section 1(b) Constitution		
4		of the Tohono O'odham Nation); and		
5	WHEREAS,	Ordinance No. 03-86, the Uniform Election Ordinance ("Election Ordinance"),		
6		codified at 12 Tohono O'odham Code, Chapter 1, authorizes the Tohono		
7		O'odham Legislative Council to appoint members of the Tohono O'odham		
8		Election Board (12 T.O.C. Chapter 1, Article III, Section 1301(B)); and		
9	WHEREAS,	the Election Ordinance provides that board members shall be "appointedfor a		
10		term of five years or until their successors are appointed" and further that		
11		"[a]ppointments to the Board shall be staggered so that the term of office of only		
12		one member will end in any single year." (12 T.O.C. Chapter 1, Article III, Section		
13		1301(B)); and		
14	WHEREAS,	Clarence Miguel was appointed to the Election Board by Resolution No. 08-200		
15		for a term ending July 31, 2012 and he continues to serve until his successor is		
16		appointed; and		
17	WHEREAS,	the Rules Committee has solicited and interviewed qualified bilingual members		
18		of the Nation to serve on the Election Board; and		
19	WHEREAS,	the Rules Committee recommends that Clarence Miguel be appointed to the		
20		Election Board for a term ending July 31, 2017.		
21	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council approves			
22		the appointment of Clarence Miguel to the Election Board beginning on the		
23		effective date of this resolution and ending July 31, 2017; provided that he shall		
24		continue to serve until replaced by a successor who has been appointed and		
25		qualified.		
26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34	day of <u>OCTO</u> FOR; 224.2 Ac Council by Ac O'odham Nat by the Actin	g Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the Q7 TH BER, 2013 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,722.3 GAINST; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and [04] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the rticle VI, Section 1(b) and Article X, Section 7 of the Constitution of the Tohono tion, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved g Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat.984).		
35 36 37 38				

RESOLUTION NO. 13-394

(Appointing Clarence Miguel to the Election Board for a Five-Year Term Ending July 31, 2017)
Page 2 of 2

1		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
2 3		90 1 m ()
4		Blive Muce
5 6		fimothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
7		14 day of October, 2013
8		
9		
0 1	ATTEST:	
2	Win nellella	
2 3 4	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary	_
4	11) - Othler	
5 6	day of	3
7	Said Resolution was submitted for an	proval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono
8	O'odham Nation on the/ day of	i <u>October</u> , 2013 at <u>1, 3</u> 6'clock, <u>P</u> .m.,
9	pursuant to the provisions of Section	5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become
0	effective upon his approval or upon his hours of submittal.	s failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48
2	Bours of Submittal.	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
3		
4		90 / 3 //-
5		Muns I Maria Do
7		Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
8		
9		
0		M = M + M + M + M + M + M + M + M + M +
2	1 √1 APPROVED	on the T day of Uct her. 2013
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 7 8 7 7 8 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7	0,	on the 14 day of Oct , 2013 at 3 '26 o'clock, R.m.
4	[] DISAPPROVED	at S / Co'clock, .m.
2		$X \setminus A \cap A$
7		// X (/ X \(\sigma\)
8		NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN
9		TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
1		
$\hat{2}$		
3		1//
4	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on	the <u>/'7</u> day of
9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8	atolus , 2013, at 4.33	o'clock. W .m.
ž	0.1	
	(1000 x 111/1/2	
9	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary	
	i rianta ambant refibiente deficiela	

ACTION: APPOINTING CLARENCE MIGUEL TO THE ELECTION BOARD FOR A FIVE-YEAR TERM ENDING JULY 31,

2017

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN LORRAINE EILER SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN MARY LOPEZ

DATE: OCTOBER 7, 2013

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 224.2	1. LUCINDA ALLEN (Nicholas Jose)	112.1	х			
	2. MARY LOPEZ	112.1	X			
SELLS 502.0	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Kimberly Mull)	251.0	X		i	
	2. BARBARA HAVIER ()	251.0	X			
SCHUK TOAK 174.2	1. FRANCES B. STEPHENS (Absent) (Anthony J. Rios) (Present)	87.1	X			
173.2	2. QUINTIN C. LOPEZ (John Fendenheim)	87.1	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. HILARION CAMPUS	112.1		Х		Х
224.2	2. ADAM ANDREWS (Rachael Vilson-Stoner)	112.1		x		
SAN LUCY 219.6	1. DIANA MANUEL (Gloria Ramirez)	109.8	X			X
	2. JANA MONTANA	109.8	x			
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta)	105.3	х			
210.6	2. EDWARD MANUEL, SR.	105.3	x			
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega)	98.45	X			
196.9	2. SANDRA ORTEGA (Manuel Osequeda, Jr.)	98.45	X			X
HIA CED 19.6	1. LORRAINE EILER (Jolene Garcia)	9.8	X			
15.0	2. MICHAEL FLORES ()	9.8	X			
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores)	120.5	X			
241.0	2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Jeffery Antone, Sr.)	120.5	x			X
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	128.65	х	·		
257.3	2. LORETTA LEWIS (Louis Johnson)	128.65	x			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	159.6	X			
319.2	(Marlakay C. Henry) 2. BILLMAN LOPEZ ()	159.6	x			
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	178.85	X			
357.7	(Roberta Harvey) 2. VERNON J. SMITH (Gloria Zazueta)	178.85	X			
	TOTAL	2,946.5	2,722.3	224.2	-0-	[04]