RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Judge Violet Lui-Frank to the Tohono O'odham Judicial Court)

RESOLUTION NO. 13-421

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to appoint
2		judges to the Tohono O'odham Judicial Court pursuant to the Constitution of the
3		Tohono O'odham Nation, ("Constitution") which states, "The Tohono O'odham
4		Courts shall be courts of record and shall consist of at least six (6) judges
5		appointed by the Tohono O'odham Council." (Constitution, Article VIII, Section
6		3); and
7	WHEREAS,	the Constitution requires the judges' terms to be staggered so that two judges
8		shall be appointed every other year (Constitution, Article VIII, Section 4); and
9	WHEREAS,	pursuant to 6 T.O.C. Chapter 1, Section 1103(B), "A judge shall continue in office,
10		even if the judge's term has expired, until a successor is appointed and sworn
11		in."; and
12	WHEREAS,	Judge Violet Lui-Frank's term expired on January 31, 2013 and she continues in
13		office until her successor is appointed and sworn in; and
14	WHEREAS,	the Judiciary Committee, having legislative oversight of matters pertaining to
15		the Tohono O'odham Judicial Court, has reviewed each judicial candidate's
16		application packet and background information, and has interviewed each
17		judicial candidate who submitted a complete application; and
18	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council has likewise interviewed and considered each judicial
19		candidate appearing before the Council and recommends that the Council
20		appoint Judge Violet Lui-Frank to a term ending January 31, 2019.
21	NOW, THERE	FORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it hereby
22		appoints Judge Violet Lui-Frank as a Tohono O'odham Judicial Court judge for a
23		term beginning on the effective date of this resolution and ending January 31,
24		2019.
25 26 27 28 29 30	FOR; <u>-0-</u> AGA Council Artic the Tohono (g Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 10 TH BER, 2013 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,946.5 INST; -0- NOT VOTING; and [04] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the cle VIII; Section 3 of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of

32 33

31

June 18, 1934 (48 Stat.984).

34

(Appointing Judge Violet Lui-Frank to the Tohono O'odham Judicial Court) Page 2 of 2 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman 6 6 day of October ATTEST: Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary day of Utilic effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman on the le day of Office, 2013 at 3/13 o'clock, l.m. 1 √ APPROVED [] DISAPPROVED NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the _____day of

RESOLUTION NO. 13-421

Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary

ACTION: APPOINTING JUDGE VIOLET LUI-FRANK TO THE TOHONO O'ODHAM JUDICIAL COURT

MOVED: COUNCILMAN VERNON SMITH SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN ETHEL GARCIA

DATE: OCTOBER 10, 2013

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSEN
SIF OIDAK	1. LUCINDA ALLEN (Nicholas Jose)	112.1	x			
224.2	2. MARY LOPEZ	112.1	х			Х
SELLS 502.0	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Kimberly Mull)	251.0	X			
502.0	2. BARBARA HAVIER	251.0	X			
SCHUK TOAK 174.2	1. FRANCES B. STEPHENS (Anthony J. Rios)	87.1	X			
	2. QUINTIN C. LOPEZ (John Fendenheim)	87.1	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. HILARION CAMPUS (Absent) (Daniel L.A. Preston III) (Present)	112.1	Х			
224.2	2. ADAM ANDREWS (Rachel Vilson-Stoner)	112.1	x			
SAN LUCY	1. DIANA MANUEL (Gloria Ramirez)	109.8	х			
219.6	2. JANA MONTANA	109.8	x			
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta)	105.3	х			-
210.6	2. EDWARD MANUEL, SR.	105.3	х			
HICKIWAN 196.9	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega)	98.45	X			
190.9	2. SANDRA ORTEGA (Absent) (Manuel Osequeda, Jr.) (Present)	98.45	х			х
HIA CED	1. LORRAINE EILER (Jolene Garcia)	9.8	Х			
19.6	2. MICHAEL FLORES	9.8	x			
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores)	120.5	х			
241.0	2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Jeffery Antone, Sr.)	120.5	x			x
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	128.65	x			
257.3	2. LORETTA LEWIS (Louis Johnson)	128.65	x			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Marlakay C. Henry)	159.6	x			
319.2	(MARIARAY C. HENRY) 2. BILLMAN LOPEZ ()	159.6	x			
BABOQUIVARI	FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey)	178.85	х			Х
357.7	2. VERNON J. SMITH (Gloria Zazueta)	178.85	x			
	TOTAL	2,946.5	2,946.5	-0-	-0-	[04]