## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Geneva Acosta to the Election Board for a Five-year Term Ending July 31, 2019)

**RESOLUTION NO. 14-216** 

	Ì						
1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to "provide for,					
2		appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers					
3		of committees, boards, officers and agents (Article VI, Section 1(b) Constitution					
4		of the Tohono O'odham Nation); and					
5	WHEREAS,	the Nation's Elections law, codified at 12 Tohono O'odham Code, Chapter 1,					
6		authorizes the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council to appoint members of the					
7		Tohono O'odham Election Board (12 T.O.C. Chapter 1, Article III, Section					
8		1301(B)); and					
9	WHEREAS,	the Nation's Elections law provides that board members shall be "appointed					
10		for a term of five years or until their successors are appointed" and further that					
11		"[a]ppointments to the Board shall be staggered so that the term of office of only					
12		one member will end in any single year." (12 T.O.C. Chapter 1, Article III, Section					
13	!	1301(B)); and					
14	WHEREAS,	Geneva Acosta was appointed to the Election Board by Resolution No. 13-321 to					
15		complete a term ending July 31, 2014 and she continues to serve until her					
16		successor is appointed; and					
17	WHEREAS,	the Rules Committee recommends that Geneva Acosta be appointed to the					
18		Election Board for a term ending July 31, 2019.					
19	NOW, THERI	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council appoints					
20		Geneva Acosta to the Election Board beginning on August 1, 2014 and ending July					
21		complete a term ending July 31, 2014 and she continues to serve until her successor is appointed; and the Rules Committee recommends that Geneva Acosta be appointed to the Election Board for a term ending July 31, 2019.  REFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council appoints Geneva Acosta to the Election Board beginning on August 1, 2014 and ending July 31, 2019; provided that she shall continue to serve until replaced by a successor who has been appointed and qualified.  ing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 02ND E, 2014, at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,946.5 FOR; -0-0-NOT VOTING; and [05] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Sections 1 (b); Article X, Section 7 of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting istant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section					
22		who has been appointed and qualified.					
23							
24 25							
26							
27	adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting						
28	Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6. 1986. pursuant to Section						
29	16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat.984).						
30							
31		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·					
32		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL					
33 34		/hLd /\					
35		1/WIPW)WMCZO,					
36		Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman					
37		) Namothy Joaquan, Legislative Chairman					
38		day of New , 2014					
39							
40		<i>ii</i>					

40 41 

RESOLUTION NO. 14-216 (Appointing Geneva Acosta to the Election Board for a Five-year Term Ending July 31, 201) Page 2 of 2	<b>19</b> )
C/1200 11/1-	
Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary	
<u>6</u> day of <u>Nine</u> , 2014	
Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the	Coho
pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of/Article VII of the Constitution and will the effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it wi	eco
nouts of submittan.	
TOMONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COLINGIA	
January LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL	
muly strain	
Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman	
(	
on the day of	, 20
[ ] DISAPPROVED at $\frac{\sqrt{35}}{2}$ o'clock, $\sqrt{\frac{1}{2}}$ o.m.	
(Various MA Danas R)	
NED NORRIS IR CHAIRMAN	_
TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION	
Returned to the Legislative Secretary on theday of	
Junu , 2014, at 4.34 o'clock, Pm.	
_ Sum Sify fr	
Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary	
	(Appointing Geneva Acosta to the Election Board for a Five-year Term Ending July 31, 20) Page 2 of 2  ATTEST:  Levenine Wilson, Legislative Secretary  day of Alexand for approval to the office of the Chairman of the O'odham Nation on the day of July 2014 at July 0'clock, pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will teffective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it withours of submittal.  TOMONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL Timothy Joaquing Legislative Chairman  On the day of Alexand Article VII o'clock, m.  LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL TIMOTHY JOAQUING LEGISLATIVE LEGISLATI

ACTION: APPOINTING GENEVA ACOSTA TO THE ELECTION BOARD FOR A FIVE-YEAR TERM ENDING JULY 31, 2019

MOVED: VICE CHAIRMAN EDWARD MANUEL SECOND: COUNCILMAN TONY MURRIETTA

**DATE:** JUNE 02, 2014

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 224.2	1. LUCINDA ALLEN (Nicholas Jose)	112.1	х	_	·	
	2. MARY LOPEZ ( )	112.1	X			
SELLS 502.0	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Ophelia Pablo)	251.0	X			
	2. BARBARA HAVIER (Beverly Rivas)	251.0	X			X
SCHUK TOAK 174.2	1. FRANCES B. STEPHENS (Anthony J. Rios) 2. QUINTIN C. LOPEZ	87.1				
	(John Fendenheim)	87.1	X			
SAN XAVIER 224,2	1. HILARION CAMPUS (Daniel L.A. Preston III)	112.1	X			Х
	2. RACHEAL VILSON-STONER ( )	112.1	Х			
SAN LUCY 219.6	1. DIANA MANUEL (Gloria Ramirez)	109.8	X			
215.0	2. JANA MONTANA	109.8	X			
PISINEMO 210.6	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Absent) (Tony Murrietta) (Present)	105.3	X			
	2. EDWARD MANUEL, SR.	105.3	X			
HICKIWAN 196.9	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Michelle Ortega) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA	98.45	x			:
	(Manuel Osequeda, Jr.)	98.45	X			
HIA CED 19.6	1. LORRAINE EILER (Jolene Garcia) 2. MICHAEL FLORES	9.8 9.8	X			
	( )	7.0	X			
GU VO 241.0	1. GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores) 2. PAMELA ANGHILL	120.5				•
	(Jeffery Antone, Sr.)	120.5	X			Х
GU ACHI 257.3	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	128.65	X			
	2. LORETTA LEWIS (Louis Johnson)	128.65	X			
CHUKUT KUK 319.2	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Marlakay C. Henry)	159.6	Х			
J1J14	2. BILLMAN LOPEZ ( )	159.6	х			X
BABOQUIVARI 357.7	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey)	178.85	X			
351.1	2. VERNON J. SMIŤH (Gloria Zazueta)	178.85	x			Х
	TOTAL	2,946.5	2,946.5	-0-	-0-	[05]