RES. NO. 47-72

WHEREAS, on the 7th day of July, 1972, a proposal concerning the creation of a Tucson Gas & Electric (TG&E) Right of Way Committee was presented to The Papago Council; and

WHEREAS, the committee would be formed to work with PTUA to assist in meeting with the District Councils and the Papago people to explain all factors involved concerning a right of way for the power transmission line which might possibly be granted TG&E across a portion of the Reservation; and

WHEREAS, The Papago Council did, indeed, present such proposal to its members, said proposal being set forth under Resolution No. 41-72; and

WHEREAS, the vote on said Resolution No. 41-72 was "6 for, 5 against, 8 not voting and 3 absent"; and

WHEREAS, the Papago Chairman, after consulting with members of the Council after the meeting, determined that there was some confusion on just what the nature of the vote was about; and

WHEREAS, the Papago Chairman desired to bring before the Council again for its consideration the Resolution No. 41-72;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE PAPAGO COUNCIL that a TG&E Right of Way Committee, as originally set forth in Resolution No. 41-72, is hereby created to assist PTUA in meeting with the Papago people and District Councils to determine the desires of the people and to advise the Papago Council at some future date whether the Council should grant Tucson Gas & Electric (TG&E) a right of way across the Papago Reservation for a 345 KV transmission power line.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this Resolution No. 47-72 reaffirms the previous Resolution No. 41-72.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the following individuals are named to the TG&E Right of Way Committee with the understanding the Chairman and Vice Chairman of The Papago Council are named ex-officio without a vote:

- 1. Augustine B. Lopez, Chairman, The Papago Council (ex-officio)
- 2. Enos Francisco, Vice Chairman " (ex-officio)
- 3. Elena Frank, Papago Councilwoman, San Xavier District
- 4. Steve Williams, Papago Councilman, Schuk Toak District
- 5. Vincent Manuel, Papago Councilman, Sif Oidak District
- 6. Simon Mamake, District Chairman, San Xavier District
- 7. Richard Rios, District Chairman, Schuk Toak District
- 8. Roger Enos, District Chairman, Sif Oidak District

.The foregoing Resolution was duly enacted by The Papago Council on the 14th day of July, 1972, at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 17 for, 4 not voting, -0- against, 1 absent, pursuant to authority vested in The Papago Council by Sections 2(c), (e) and (h) and 3(d), (g) and (h) of Article V of the Constitution and By-Laws of the Papago Tribe of Arizona, ratified by the Tribe on December 12, 1936, and approved by the Secretary of the Interior on January 6, 1937, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934. Said Resolution is effective as of the date of its approval by the Superintendent of the Papago Agency and is subject to review by the Secretary of the Interior.

ATTEST:

THE PAPAGO COUNCIL

Superintendent

The Papago Agency

APPROVED:

AUG 1972

PAPAGO AGENCY