RESOLUTION OF THE PAPAGO TRIBAL COUNCIL

RES. NO. 2-77

1 WHEREAS, it is contemplated that upon completion of construction of the San Simon School all school children presently enrolled in the school at Vaya Chin shall be transferred to the San Simon School; and

WHEREAS, the Bureau of Indian Affairs does not appear to have any need or use for the old school facilities at Vaya Chin, and such facilities would serve a substantial need and provide a substantial benefit to the Hickiwan District if they were transferred or assigned to the District.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Papago Council that it does hereby request that the Bureau of Indian Affairs transfer or assign any unused school facilities, including buildings, lands and contents located in Vaya Chin to the Hickiwan District to be used for such purposes as its District Council shall direct.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Chairman and Secretary of the Hickiwan District Council are hereby authorized, on behalf of the Papago Tribe, to receive and receipt for any such facilities transferred or assigned to the District by the Bureau of Indian Affairs pursuant to the request contained in this Resolution.

The foregoing Resolution was duly enacted by the Papago Council on the 7th day of January, 1977, at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 834.0 for; 0 against; 0 not voting; and 0 absent, pursuant to the authority vested in the Council by Section (d) (e) and (f) of Article V and Section 4 of Article VIII 2 (a) of the Constitution and By-laws of the Papago Tribe as amended, ratified by the Papago Tribe on December 12, 1936, and approved by the Secretary of the Interior on January 6, 1937, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). Said Resolution is not subject to review by the Secretary of the Interior and is effective as of the date of its enactment by the Papago Council.

THE PAPAGO COUNCIL

ATTEST:

RECEIVED PAPAGO AGENCY SELLS, ARRZONA

31 32

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

VOTE OF THE PAPAGO COUNCIL ,

DATE OF MEETING JANUARY 7, 1976

RESOLUTION ON WANTANAY NO. 2-77

						
DISTRICTS	REPRESENTATIVES	NO. OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABS
BABOQUIVARI 127	1. Edward Kisto (Joann Garcia) 2. Louis Harvey (Marvin Garcia)	63.5 63.5	127.0			
CHUKUT KUK 64	 Rosemary Lopez (Nellie Martin) Harriet Toro (Archie Hendricks) 	32.0 32.0	64.0			
GU ACHI 81	 Joseph P. Ramon (Stephen Listo) Juan P. Lopez (Noleo J. Ramon) 	40.5 40.5	81.0			
GU VO 49	 Cross Antone (Edward J. Lopez) William Lewis Sr. (Frances Cachora) 	24.5 24.5	49.0			
HICKIWAN 81	1. Henry A. Ramon (James Angea) 2. Archie Pilone (Emillio Francisco)	40.5 40.5	81.0			
PISINIMO 52	1. Lamando Francisco (Andrew Lorentine) 2. ANมีชอ เป็นส์น์ (Herman Lopez) Alternate	26.0 26.0	52.0			
SAN LUCY 32	1. Máx/ントンタミé (Jeannie Morris)Alternate 2. たスタタ/Ṣạṇ (Ricardo M. Baptisto)ALT.	16.0 16.0	32.0			
SAN XAVIER 66	 Tony Felix (Rosemary D. Secundino) Carmelita Mattias (Laura J. Smith) 	33.0 33.0	66.0		\	
SCHUK TOAK 46	1. Joseph Enriquez (Joann Francisco) 2. Ramon Campillo Jr. (Felix Juan)	23.0 23.0	46.0			
SELLS 147	1. Mollie Garcia (Jacob Lewis) 2. Larry Garcia (Tony Lopez)	73.5 73.5	147.0			
SIF OIDAK 89	1. Edward Juan (Vincent Manuel) 2. Melissa Norris (Fernando Jose)	44.5 44.5	89.0			
TOTALS		834.0	834.0	0	5.837.77.	, 0