RESOLUTION OF THE PAPAGO TRIBAL COUNCIL

(Rejection of membership application of CARLOS E. MENDEZ)

RES. NO. <u>609-85</u>

1	WHEREAS,	An application for enrollment as a member of the Papago Tribe of the				
2		the Papago Reservation has been filed by or on behalf of CARLOS E.				
3		MENDEZ ("applicant"), namely application No.No District filed on the				
4		3rd day of November, 1983; and				
5	WHEREAS,	The Enrollment Committee has reviewed the application and has recom-				
7		mended that the application be denied because the applicant failed				
8		to establish the following membership requirement(s): PAPAGO				
9		CONSTITUTION & BY-LAWS ARTICLE II MEMBERSHIP - SECTION (1A) & (1B);				
10		and				
11	WHEREAS,	The application has come on for hearing before this Council; and				
12		The Enrollment Committee did serve written notice of its recommen-				
13		dation to reject the application and of this hearing, as required by				
14		Section 2, Article VI of the Papago Enrollment Ordinance, upon the				
15						
16		person who filed the application and such person was not present at				
17		this hearing; and				
18	WHEREAS,	The Papago Council has reviewed all of the evidence presented and				
19		from such evidence finds that the applicant has failed to establish				
20		the foregoing membership requirement(s).				
21	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Papago Council that it does hereby					
2223		determine that the application CARLOS E. MENDEZ for enrollment as a				
24		member of the Papago Tribe is hereby rejected.				
25	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Chairman of the Papago Council shall issue a					
26		certificate of Final Determination of Rejection and that the En-				
27		rollment Committee serve Notice of Rejection of the application in				
28	17	accordance with the provisions of Section 1 and 2, Article VIII of				
29		of the Papago Enrollment Ordinance.				
30	The fore	going Resolution was duly enacted by the Papago Council on the 12th da				
of July, 1985, at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vot for; -0- against; 85.0 not voting; and 04 absent; pursuant to the						
32	101, -0=	against, ooto not voting, and or absent, parsuant to the				

RES. NO. 609-85 (Rejection of Membership application of CARLOS E. MENDEZ) Page Two (2)

authority vested in the Papago Council by Article II and Section 2 (f) of Article V of the Constitution and By-laws of the Papago Tribe of Arizona as amended, ratified by the Papago Tribe on December 12, 1936, and approved by the Secretary of the Interior on January 6, 1937, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). Said Resolution is not subject to review by the Secretary of the Interior and is effective as of the date of its enactment by the Papago Council.

THE PAPAGO COUNCIL

7 8

Josiah Moore, Chairman

11 ATTEST:

Ophelia F. Campillo, Secretary

3

	SUBJEC	T: Enrol	lment Comm	ittees		
DATE: 7/12/85 DISTRICTS , REPRESENTATIVES			Recommendations For Rejection			
			RESOLUTION OR ORDINANCE # 609-8			
REPRESENTATIVES (FOR	AGAINST	VOTING	ABSEN	
1. Elliott Lewis	69.0	x				
2. Nicklos Jose (Letitia Garcia)	69.0	X				
1. Andrew M. Patricio (Nora Alvarez)	128.5	Х			X	
2. Fred Stevens (Dennis E. Jose)	128.5	X				
1. Joseph Juan	52.5	X			-	
2. Julie Carrillo (Jo Ann Francisco)	52.5	X			X -,	
1. John B. Narcho	63.0	X				
2. Tony Felix (Carmelita Mattias)	63.0	X			•	
1. Joann Garcia	120.5	X		-	X	
2. Kenneth Chico, Sr. (Frances Miguel)	120.5	X				
1. Angelo J. Joaquin, Sr	79.0	X				
2. Fernando Joaquin (Fred Adams, Jr.)	79.0	X	3			
1. Chester Antone	58.0	Х			7	
2. Johnson Jose (Edward D. Manuel)	58.0	Х				
1. John Reno	42.5			x		
2. Max P. Jose (Dewey I. Ortega)	42.5			x		
1. Cross Antone (Fern E. Salcido)	58.5	Х				
2. Virgil Lewis (Roy Montana)	58.5	Х			X ·	
1. Henry A. Ramon (Pablo Bantisto)	64.0	Х		Part Age (
2. Lloyd Francisco (Eleanor Santos)	64.0	Х				
1. Rosemary Lopez (Anita C. Clark)	84.5	Х				
2. Harriet Toro (Marvin J.Thomas)	84.5	Х				
	1640.0	1555.0	-0-	85.0	4	
	REPRESENTATIVES 1. Elliott Lewis (Eugene F. Jose) 2. Nicklos Jose (Letitia Garcia) 1. Andrew M. Patricio (Nora Alvarez) 2. Fred Stevens (Dennis E. Jose) 1. Joseph Juan (# REPRESENTATIVES	RESOLUTION RESOL	REPRESENTATIVES	REPRESENTATIVES OF VOTES FOR AGAINST NOT NOT (Eugene F. Jose) 1. Elliott Lewis (Eugene F. Jose) 2. Nicklos Jose (Letitia Garcia) 1. Andrew M. Patricio (Nora Alvarez) 2. Fred Stevens (Dennis E. Jose) 1. Joseph Juan (Joseph Juan Julie Carrillo (Joseph Juan (Joseph Juan Julie Carrillo (Joseph Juan Julie Carrillo (Joseph Juan Julie Carrillo (Joseph Julie Car	

٠٠٠ <u>- توني</u>

MOVED: