RESOLUTION OF THE PAPAGO TRIBAL COUNCIL (Papago Family Crisis Program/Proposal)

RES. NO. 623-85

WHEREAS,	The Arizona Department of Economic Security/Administration for					
	Children, Youth and Families has received State appropriation for FY					
	85-86 to develop child abuse and neglect prevention and treatment					
	program on Indian Reservations; and					

WHEREAS, There is a need for a Papago Family Crisis Program to decrease child abuse and neglect and out of home placements of children through providing crisis intervention and shelter to domestic violence victims.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Papago Council that it does hereby approve the Papago Human Services Department to apply for funding from the Arizona Department of Economic Security for a crisis program focused on the resolution of family problems underlying violent behavior to family members.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Josiah Moore, Chairman; Francisco Jose, Vice

Chairman or Rosita N. Ruiz, Treasurer are hereby authorized to

negotiate and execute all necessary documents to request funding.

The foregoing Resolution was duly enacted by the Papago Council on the 8th day of August, 1985, at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1640.0 for; -0- against; -0- not voting; and 0 absent, pursuant to the authority vested in the Papago Council by Section 2 (a) and (h) of Article V of the Constitution and By-laws of the Papago Tribe of Arizona as amended, ratified by the Papago Tribe on December 12, 1936, and approved by the Secretary of the Interior on January 6, 1937, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). Said Resolution is not subject to review by the Secretary of the Interior and is effective as of the date of its enactment by the Papago Council.

THE PAPAGO COUNCIL

Josiah Moore, Chairman

ATTEST:

Ophelia F. Campillo, Secretary

MOVED: Tony Felix		SUBJE	CT:A	Accepting the Papago Family			
SECOND: Julie Carrillo			C1	Crisis Program/Proposal			
DATE: At		RESOI	RESOLUTION OR ORDINANCE		E # 623-85		
DISTRICTS	REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES		AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT	
SIF OIDAK	1. Elliott Lewis (Eugene F. Jose) 2. Nicklos Jose (Letitia Garcia)	69.0 69.0	X X				
SELLS 257	 Andrew M. Patricio (Nora Alvarez) Fred Stevens (Dennis E. Jose) 	128.5 128.5	X				
105	 Joseph Juan () Julie Carrillo (Jo Ann Francisco) 	52.5 52.5	X X				
SAN XAVIER	1. John B. Narcho (Austin Nunez) 2. Tony Felix (Carmelita Mattias)	63.0 63.0	X				
BABOQUIVARI 241	 Joann Garcia (Edward N.Kisto) Kenneth Chico, Sr. (Frances Miguel) 	120.5	X				
GU ACHI 158	 Angelo J. Joaquin, Sr (Jonas R. Robles) Fernando Joaquin (Fred Adams, Jr.) 	79.0 79.0	X				
PISINEMO 116	 Chester Antone (Sylvester Manuel) Johnson Jose (Edward D. Manuel) 	58.0 58.0	X				
SAN LUCY 85	1. John Reno () 2. Max P. Jose (Dewey I. Ortega)	42.5	X			C	
GU VO 117	 Cross Antone (Fern E. Salcido) Virgil Lewis (Roy Montana) 	58.5 58.5	X				
HICKIWAN 128	1. Henry A. Ramon (Pablo Baptisto) 2. MANAGEMENTO (Eleanor Santos)	64.0	X X				
CHUKUT KUK	1. Rosemary Lopez (Anita C. Clark) 2. Harriet Toro (Marvin J.Thomas)	84.5	x x		- 9a		
TOTALS		1640.0	1640.0	-0-	-0-	-0-	