RESOLUTION OF THE PAPAGO TRIBAL COUNCIL

(Community Development Block Grant Proposed Rules Revision)

RES. NO. 685-85

WHEREAS, the Papago Tribe is familiar and supportive of the present rules and regulations governing the Community Development Block Grant Program for Indian Tribes and Alaskan Native Villages; and

WHEREAS, the proposed revision as published in the August 01, 1985, Federal Register, would not be in the best interest of the Papago Tribe at this time because of the following: (1) Size of population would no longer be a consideration for the dollar amount to be made available to the Tribe; (2) the number of projects submitted would depend on individual projects for points; and

WHEREAS, the Papago Tribe would no longer be eligible for amounts currently available based on population; and

WHEREAS, the Papago Tribe would no longer be able to submit more than one project and have it rated as an individual project and awarding points as a priority on its own merit.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Papago Tribal Council does hereby disapprove the proposed rules revision in regard to the rating system for Community Development Block Grants because it would adversely affect the Papago Tribe.

The foregoing Resolution was duly enacted by the Papago Council on the 13th day of September, 1985, at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1,640.0 for; -0- against; -0- not voting; and -0- absent, pursuant to the authority vested in the Papago Council by Section 2 (a)(h) of Article V of the Constitution and By-laws of the Papago Tribe of Arizona as amended, ratified by the Papago Tribe on December 12, 1936, and approved by the Secretary of the Interior on January 6, 1937, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). Said Resolution is not subject to review by the Secretary of the Interior and is effective as of the date of its enactment by the Papago Council.

THE PAPAGO COUNCIL

Jøsiah Moore, Chairman

ATTEST:

Campillo,

29

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

30

31

32

MOVED: Harriet Toro SECOND: Virgil Lewis		SUBJE	CT:C	Grant Proposed Bules Revision			
			G				
DATE: 09/13/85			RESO	LUTION OR	ORDINANCE # 685-85		
DISTRICTS	REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT	
SIF OIDAK	 Elliott Lewis (Eugene F. Jose) Nicklos Jose (Letitia Garcia) 	69.0 69.0	X	ļ			
SELLS 257	 Andrew M. Patricio (Nora Alvarez) Fred Stevens (Dennis E. Jose) 	128.5	X X				
105	1. Joseph Juan () 2. Julie Carrillo (Jo Ann Francisco)	52.5 52.5	X X				
SAN XAVIER	1. John B. Narcho (Austin Nunez) 2. Tony Felix (Carmelita Mattias)	63.0	Χ				
BABOQUIVARI 241	 Joann Garcia (Edward N.Kisto) Kenneth Chico, Sr. (Frances Miguel) 	120.5	X				
GU ACHI 158	 Angelo J. Joaquin, Sr (Jonas R. Robles) Fernando Joaquin (Fred Adams, Jr.) 	79.0 79.0	X X				
PISINEMO 116	1. Chester Antone (Sylvester Manuel) 2. Johnson Jose (Edward D. Manuel)	58.0 58.0	X X				
SAN LUCY 85	1. John Reno () 2. Max P. Jose (Dewey I. Ortega)	42.5	X X			C	
GU VO 117	1. Cross Antone (Fern E. Salcido) 2. Virgil Lewis (Roy Montana)	58.5 58.5	X				
HICKIWAN 128	 Henry A. Ramon (Pablo Baptisto) Lloyd Francisco (Eleanor Santos) 	64.0 64.0	X				
169	 Rosemary Lopez (Anita C. Clark) Harriet Toro (Marvin J.Thomas) 	84.5 84.5	X			3	
TOTALS		1640.0	1640.0	-0-	-0-	-0-	