RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Papago Farming Authority Name Change)

RES. NO. 166-87

WHEREAS, the Papago Council did by Resolution No. 72-79 create and establish
the Papago Farming Authority pursuant to an approved Plan of
Operation, naming it the Papago Farming Authority; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Tohono O'Odham Nation did on January 18, 1986 adopt a new constitution changing the name of the Papago Tribe to the Tohono O'Odham Nation; and

WHEREAS, the Papago Farming Authority, anticipating that the Tohono O'Odham

Legislative Council intended also to change the name of the Authority

to Tohono O'Odham Farming Authority, did adopt the name Tohono O'Odham

Farming Authority upon its official stationary and in its dealings

with third parties, and now requires this Council's assent and ratification therefore.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council that it does hereby authorize the Papago Farming Authority to use the name Tohono O'Odham Farming Authority upon its official stationary, contracts, checks and bank accounts and does hereby ratify the Authority's past use of the name.

The foregoing resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the $\underline{1st.}$ day of \underline{May} , $\underline{1987}$, at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of $\underline{1640.0}$ for; $\underline{-0-}$ against; $\underline{-0-}$ not voting; and $\underline{01}$ absent, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1 (b) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986, and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Harriet Toro, Legislative Chairperson

The day of May, 19

ATTEST:

Acting Legislative Secretary

day of Moul, 1987

	(Papago Farming Authority Name Change) Page Two (2)
1 2	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the 11^{++} day of May , 1987 , at $2/54$ o'clock, P .M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the
3	Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.
4	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
5	
6	Maniettao
7	Harriet Foro, Legislative Chairperson
8	[λ] APPROVED) on the <u>13</u> day of <u>May</u> , 19 <u>87</u> , at
9	[] DISAPPROVED)
10 11	
12	JOSZAH MOORE, Chairman
13	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
14	Returned to Legislative Secretary on the 14th day of Mouy, 1987,
15	at <u>8:55</u> o'clock, <u>Q</u> .M.
16	
17	Anninga Callox
18	Acting Legislative Secretary
19	
20 21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	

MOVED:_	JOHN RENO	SUB	JECT:_	PAPAGO	FARMING	AUTHORITY	NAME	CHANGE

SECOND: ANGFLO JOAQUIN, SR.

DATE: MAY 1, 1987 RESOLUTION ORX ORDINANCE # 166-87

DISTRICTS		REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	voting	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK	1.	Elliott Lewis	69.0	X			
138	2.	(Nicholas Jose (Letitia Garcia)	69.0	Х			Х
SELLS	1.	Andrew M. Patricio (Nora Alveraz)	128.5	Χ			
257	2.	Fred Stevens, Sr.	128.5	Χ.			
SCHUK TOAK	1.	Joseph Juan	52.5	Х			
105	2.	Julia Carrillo (JoAnn Francisco)	52.5	X			
SAN XAVIER	1.	Yvonne Corella (Austin Nunez)	63.0	Х			
126	2.		63.0	Χ			
BABOQUIVARI	1.	Edward N. Kisto	120.5	Х			
241	2.	Kenneth Chico, Sr. (Frances Miguel)	120.5	Χ			
GU ACHI	1.	Angelo Joaquin, Sr.	79.0	Х			
158	2.	Fernando Joaquin	79.0	Х			
PISINEMO	1.	Jerome Antone (Consuela Mendoza)	58.0	Х			
116	2.	- INTERNATION -	58.0	Х			
SAN LUCY	1.	John Reno	42.5	Х			
85	2.	Max P. Jose (Dewey Ortega)	42.5	Х			
GU VO	1.	Cross Antone	58.5	Х			
117	2.	(Fern Salcido) Virgil Lewis (Roy Montana)	58.5	Х			
HICKIWAN	1.	Henry A. Ramon (Pablo Baptisto)	64.0	Х			
128	2.		64.0	Х			
CHUKUT KUK	1.	Rosemary Lopez	84.5	Х			
169	2.	(Anita C. Clark) Harriet Toro (Marvin J. Thomas)	84.5	Х			
TOTALS		•	1640.0	1640.0	-0-	-0-	01