RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (May 23, 1987 General Election)

RES. NO. 176-87

WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'Odham Nation did on Saturday, May 23, 1987, have a
	general election for the offices of Chairman and Vice Chairman of the
	Tohono O'Odham Nation and Representatives and Alternates to the Tohono
	O'Odham Council; and

WHEREAS, the Election Board did issue and post its Certificates of Election

Results in accordance with Section 6 (E) of article VII of the Uniform Election Ordinance, certifying to the election of the candidates who received the highest number of votes for elective office; and WHEREAS, under section 6(N) of article VII of the Uniform Election Ordinance, it is incumbent upon this Council to issue Certificates of Election to the candidates who received the highest number of votes for each office or Council seat within 20 days after the Election Board has posted its Certificates of Election Results provided, however, that no election contest statement has been filed against the candidates within the time allowed and provided for, and provided further that they hold no other elective office of the nation.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Chairperson and Secretary of the Tohono O'Odham Council are hereby authorized and directed on behalf of the Council to execute and deliver a Certificate of Election to the following persons elected either at large as Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, or from their respective Districts as Representatives and Alternates to the Tohono O'Odham Council, who shall hold offices for a term of four (4) years and until their successors are certified and seated, to-wit:

CHAIRMAN OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION:

Enos Francisco, Jr.

VICE CHAIRMAN OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION

Angelo Joaquin, Sr.

RES. NO. 176-87 (May 23, 1987 General Elections) Page Two (2)

BABOQUIVARI DISTRICT

Representative: Alternate:

Joann Garcia Frances Miguel

Rosemary Lopez

2

3

1

CHUKUT KUK DISTRICT:

Rosita Ruiz

4 5

GU ACHI DISTRICT: Representative:

Representative:

(Angelo J. Joaquin, Sr., resigned)

Alternate:

Alternate:

Percy Lopez

7

8

6

GU VO DISTRICT: Representative: Alternate:

Cross Antone Juan Joe Cipriano

9

10

HICKIWAN DISTRICT: Representative: Alternate:

Henry A. Ramon Billy Manuel

11

12

PISINEMO DISTRICT:

Edward D. Manuel

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20 21

22

23

Representative: Alex Antone Alternate:

SAN LUCY DISTRICT:

Representative: Alternate:

Ricardo M. Baptisto (resigned)

John Reno

SAN XAVIER DISTRICT:

Representative: Alternate:

Eugene Enis

(Tie between: Neddie Carlos

Michael Rios)

SCHUK TOAK DISTRICT:

Representative: Alternate:

Joseph Juan

The foregoing resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the 1st

of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham

Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section

Nation on January 18, 1986, and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant

Frances Francisco

SELLS DISTRICT:

Representative: Alternate:

Andrew Patricio Daniel Lopez

SIF OIDAK DISTRICT

16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).

Representative: CONTESTED: Williard Juan, Sr. Alternate:

Melissa Gregorio

25

24

26 day of June, 1987, at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1581.5 for; -0- against; 58.5 not voting; and 01 absent, pursuant to the powers 27 vested in the Council by Section 1 (g) of Article VI and Section 7 of Article X

28

29

30

31

32

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Moro, Legislative Chairperson 12 day of June, 1987.

	RES. NO. 176-87
	(May 23, 1987 General Elections)
	Page Three (3)
1	ATTEST:
2	Luciada Allan
3	Acting Legislative Secretary
4	15th day of 11 no., 1987.
5	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the
6	Tohono O'odham Nation on the 16 day of June, 1987, at 8:11
7	o'clock, \underline{A} .M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to
8	either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.
9	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
10	
11	andrew M. Falucio
12	forHarriet Toro, Legislative Chairperson
13	The approved a section of the sectio
	APPROVED) on the 17 day of fine, 1987, at
14	[] DISAPPROVED) $3:53$ o'clock, P .M.
15	(A Charles And)
16	ENOS FRANCISCO, JB., Chairman
17	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
18	Returned to Legislative Secretary on the $187h$ day of 90 ,
19	at $9:02$ o'clock, A .M.
20	at 1000 o clock, 17.M.
21	P
22	Acting Legislative Secretary
23	The pring Legislative Secretary
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
*	

· MOVED: Rosemary Lopez

SUBJECT: May 23, 1987 General Election

SECOND: Max Jose

DATE: June 01, 1987

RESOLUTION OR ORDINANCE # 176-87

DISTRICTS		REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	voting	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK	1.	Elliott Lewis	69.0	X			
.38	2.	Nicholas Jose (Letitia Garcia)	69.0	Х			
SELLS	1.	Andrew M. Patricio (Nora Alveraz)	128.5	х			
257	2.	Fred Stevens, Sr.	128.5	X			
CHUK TOAK	1.	Joseph Juan	52.5	x			
105	2.	Julia Carrillo (JoAnn Francisco)	52.5	X			
SAN XAVIER	1.	Yvonne Corella (Austin Nunez)	63.0	x			
126	2.	Tony Felix (Carmelita Mattias)	63.0	Х			
BABOQUIVARI	1.	Edward N. Kisto	120.5	х			
241	2.	Kenneth Chico, Sr. (Frances Miguel)	120.5	, X			
GU ACHI	1.	Angelo Joaquin, Sr.	79.0	X k			
158	2.	Fernando Joaquin	79.0	X			
PISINEMO	1.	Jerome Antone (Consuela Mendoza)	58.0	х			Х
116	2.	Johnson Jose (Edward Manuel)	58.0	Х			
SAN LUCY	1.	John Reno	42.5	x			
85	2.	Max P. Jose (Dewey Ortega)	42.5	Х			
GU VO	1.		58.5	x			
117	2.	(Fern Salcido) Virgil Lewis (Roy Montana)	58.5			х	
HICKIWAN	1.	Henry A. Ramon (Pablo Baptisto)	64.0	x			
128	2.		64.0	Х			
CHUKUT KUK	1.	Rosemary Lopez	84.5	X.			
169	2.	(Anita C. Clark) Harriet Toro (Marvin J. Thomas)	84.5	X			
TOTALS		•	1640.0	1581.5	-0-	58.5	01