RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Certifying election of Harriet Toro as Chairperson of the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council)

RES. NO. 178-87

WHEREAS, the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council did by Legislative Order

(Resolution No. 178-B-87) cast a majority of its votes in favor of

Harriet Toro as Chairperson of the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council;

and

WHEREAS, this Council hereby wishes to commemorate and certify its election of

Harriet Toro as Chairperson of the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council.

Harriet Toro as Chairperson of the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council that

it hereby commemorates and certifies the election of Harriet Toro as

Chairperson of the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council

The foregoing resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the $\underline{1st.}$ day of \underline{June} , $\underline{1987}$, at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of $\underline{1286.5}$ for; $\underline{63.0}$ against; $\underline{290.5}$ not voting; and $\underline{-0-}$ absent, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1 (b) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986, and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act

of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Harriet Toro, Legislative Chairperson 12 day of June, 1987.

ATTEST:

Hurinda Ollo

Acting Legislative Secretary
15th day of June, 1987.

Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the 16 day of June, 1987, at 8:12 o'clock, A.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Harriet Toro, Legislative Chairperson

	RES. NO. <u>178-87</u> (Certifying election of Harriet Toro as Chairperson of the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council) Page Two (2)
1	[] APPROVED) on the 17 day of June, 1987, at [] DISAPPROVED) 3.55 o'clock, 2.M.
2	[] DISAPPROVED) 3.55 o'clock, $\cancel{\cancel{P}}$.M.
3	
4	(Mary forgument).
5	ENOS FRANCISCO JR. Chairman TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
6	
7	Returned to Legislative Secretary on the $187h$ day of $9me$, 1987 ,
8	at <u>9.04</u> o'clock, <u>A.</u> .M.
9	
10	Line allen 1 a. a.
11	Luanda allen Jaya Acting Legislative Secretary
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	[2]

MOVED: Virgil Lewis

SUBJECT: Certifying election of Harriet Toro as

Chairperson of the Tohono O'odham

Legislative Council.

DATE: June 01, 1987

SECOND: Rosita Ruiz

RESOLUTION OR ORDINANCE # 178-87

DISTRICTS	REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK	1. Nicholas Jose	69.0	х			
138.0	(Letitia Garcia) 2. Elliott Lewis ()	69.0	Х			
SELLS	(Daniel Lopez)		х			
257.0			х			
SCHUK TOAK			- 1		x	
105.0	(JoAnn Francisco) 2. Joseph Juan (Frances Francisco)	52.5	Х			
SAN XAVIER	1. Eugene Enis (Neddie Carlos)	63.0			х	
126.0	(Michael Rios) 2. Tony Felix (Carmelita Mattias)	63.0		X		
BABOQUIVARI	1. Kenneth Chico, Sr.	120.5	x			
241.0	2. Joann Garcia (Frances Miguel)	120.5	Х			
GU ACHI	1. Percy Lopez	79.0	х			
158.0	2. Fernando Joaquin ()	79.0	X			
PISINEMO	1. Johnson Jose	58.0	x			
116.0	2. Edward Manuel (Alex Antone)	58.0			х	
SAN LUCY			x			
85.0	(Dewey Ortega) 2. John Reno ()	42.5	х			
GU VO	1. Virgil Lewis	58.5			x	
117.0	(Roy Montana) 2. Cross Antone (Juan Joe Cipriano)	58.5			х	
HICKIWAN	1. Henry Ramon (Billy Manuel)	64.0	x			
128.0	2. Lloyd Francisco (Eleanor Santos)	64.0	Х			
CHUKUT KUK	1. Rosita Ruiz	84.5	х			
169.0	(Rosemary Lopez) 2. Harriet Toro (Marvin Thomas)	84.5	Х			
	TOTALS	1640.0	1286.5	63.0	290.5	-0-