## LEGISLATIVE ORDER OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Seniority Preference appointment for the Cultural Preservation Committee)

LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 190-87

		ELGISENTIVE ONDER NO. 150 OF
1 2	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council did establish a committee
3		entitled Cultural Preservation Committee; and
4	WHEREAS,	the Cultural Preservation Committee has jurisdiction over
5		archeological and culturally related issues; and
6	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council Legislative Rules allows
7		appointment to any of its committee based on ARTICLE XII SECTION 3.
8		ELECTION OF MEMBERS, LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES, C. SENIORITY PREFERENCE
9		APPOINTMENT; and
10	WHEREAS.	Council representatives, Cross Antone from Gu Vo District, Fernando

WHEREAS, Council representatives, Cross Antone from Gu Vo District, Fernando

Joaquin from Gu Achi District, Henry Ramon from Hickiwan District,

Johnson Jose from Pisinemo District and Kenneth Chico, Sr. from

Baboquivari District has requested appointment to the Cultural

Preservation Committee based on seniority.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council does hereby appoint the following members of the Council based on Seniority Preference, ARTICLE XII SECTION 3.C. of the Legislative Rules:

- Cross Antone Gu Vo District
   Fernando Joaquin Gu Achi District
   Henry Ramon Hickiwan District
   Johnson Jose Pisinemo District
- 5. Kenneth Chico, Sr. Baboquivari District

The foregoing Legislative Order was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the  $\underline{3rd}$  day of  $\underline{June}$ ,  $\underline{1987}$ , at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of  $\underline{1640.0}$  for;  $\underline{-0}$  against;  $\underline{-0}$  not voting; and  $\underline{-0}$  absent, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section  $\underline{1}$  (b) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986, and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

ForHarriet Toro, Legislative Chairperson 22 day of June, 1987.

LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 190-87 (Seniority Preference appointment for the Cultural Preservation Committee) Page Two (2)

\_, 1987.

ATTEST:

Acting Legislative 22nd day of

7 8

5

MOVED:	TONY	FELIX		

SUBJECT: SENIORITY PREFERENCE APPOINTMENT

SECOND: JOANN GARCIA

FOR THE CULTURAL PRESERVATION COMMITTEE

DATE: JUNE 2, 1987

DISTRICTS	REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK	1. Nicholas Jose	69.0	Х			
138.0	(Letitia Garcia) 2. Elliott Lewis ( )	69.0	Х			
SELLS	1. Andrew Patricio (Daniel Lopez)	128.5	Х			
257.0	2. Fred Stevens	128.5	Х			
SCHUK TOAK	1. Julia Carrillo (JoAnn Francisco)	52.5	Х			
105.0	2. Joseph Juan (Frances Francisco)	52.5	Х			
SAN XAVIER	1. Eugene Enis (Neddie Carlos)	63.0	Х			
126.0	(Michael Rios) 2. Tony Felix (Carmelita Mattias)	63.0	Х			
BABOQUIVARI	1. Kenneth Chico, Sr.	120.5	Х			
241.0	2. Joann Garcia (Frances Miguel)	120.5	Х			
GU ACHI	1. Percy Lopez	79.0	Х			
158.0	2. Fernando Joaquin ( )	79.0	Х			
PISINEMO	1. Johnson Jose	58.0	х			
116.0	2. Edward Manuel (Alex Antone)	58.0	Х			
SAN LUCY	1. Max Jose (Dewey Ortega)	42.5	х			
35.0	2. John Reno	42.5	Х			
GU VO	1. Virgil Lewis (Roy Montana)	58.5	х			
117.0	2. Cross Antone (Juan Joe Cipriano)	58.5	Х			
HICKIWAN	1. Henry Ramon (Billy Manuel)	64.0	Х			
128.0	2. Lloyd Francisco (Eleanor Santos)	64.0	Х			
СНИКИТ КИК	1. Rosita Ruiz (Rosemary Lopez)	84.5	х			
169.0	2. Harriet Toro (Marvin Thomas)	84.5	Х			
	TOTALS	1640.0 1	640.0	-0-	-0-	-0-