## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Disapproval of Resolution appointing part-time Judges)

	RES. NO. <u>50-87</u>								
1	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council did meet today to consider re-								
2	commendations on the appointment of three (3) part-time Judges								
3	positions; and								
4	WHEREAS, the Judicial Committee is recommending:								
5	1. Ned Norris								
6	<ol> <li>Evelyn Juan</li> <li>Phyllis Cachora</li> </ol>								
7	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council								
8	hereby rejects the recommendations by the Judicial Committee on the								
9									
10	individuals for part-time Judges.								
11	The foregoing resolution was defeated by the Tohono O'odham Council on the <u>5th</u> day of February, 1987, at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote								
12	of <u>550.0</u> for; <u>760.5</u> against; <u>329.5</u> not voting; and <u>01</u> absent, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1 (b) of Article VI and Section 3 of Article VIII of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986, and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986,								
13									
14									
15	pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).								
16	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL								
17									
18 19	Harriet Toro, Legislative Chairperson								
20	19 day of <u>Febr</u> , 19 7.								
20	ATTECT.								
22	ATTEST:								
23	A								
24	Acting Legislative Secretary								
25	18th day of February, 1987.								
26	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the								
27	Tohono O'odham Nation on the <u>19</u> day of <u>Feb.</u> , 19 <u>87</u> , at <u>12:02</u> o'clock, <u>P</u> .M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to								
28									
29	either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.								
30	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL								
31	$\sim 1$ $\sim 1$								
32	Harriet Toro, Legislative Chairperson								

RES. NO. 50-87 (Disapproval of Resolution appointing part-time Judges) Page Two (2) on the 20 day of Elornory 1987, at  $[\times]$ APPROVED ) 4:47 o'clock, P.M. [ ] DISAPPROVED ) JOSIAH MOORE, Chairman TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION Returned to Legislative Secretary on the <u>23rd</u> day of <u>February</u>, 19<u>87</u>, at 5:07 o'clock, p.M. Acting Legislative Secretary 

DEFEATED

MOVED: VIRGIL LEWIS

SUBJECT: DISAPPROVAL OF RESOLUTION APPOINTING

SECOND: JULIA CARRILLO

PART-TIME JUDGES

DATE: FEBRUARY 5, 1987

RESOLUTION XORX XORIOXINA MACKEX # 50-87

DISTRICTS		REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK	1.	Elliott Lewis	69.0	Х			
138	2.	(Eugene F. Jose) Nicholas Jose (Letitia Garcia)	69.0	X			
SELLS	1.	Andrew M. Patricio (Nora Alveraz)	128.5		х .		
257	2.		128.5			X	
SCHUK TOAK	1.	Joseph Juan	52.5		x		
105	2.	Julia Carrillo (JoAnn Francisco)	52.5	Х			
SAN XAVIER	1.	Yvonne Corella (Austin Nunez)	63.0		x		
126	2.		63.0		X		
BABOQUIVARI	1.	Edward N. Kisto	120.5		x		
241	2.	Kenneth Chico, Sr. (Frances Miguel)	120.5	Х			
GU ACHI	1.	Angelo Joaquin, Sr.	79.0			Х	
158	2.	( Fernando Joaquin ( )	79.0		X		
PISINEMO	1.	Jerome Antone (Consuela Mendoza)	58.0			x	
116	2.	Johnson Jose (Edward Manuel)	58.0	X			
SAN LUCY	1.	John Reno	42.5		x		
85	2.	Max P. Jose (Dewey Ortega)	42.5		x		
GU VO	1.	Cross Antone (Fern Salcido)	58.5	x			
117	2.		58.5	X			
HICKIWAN	1.	Henrow Awx Remonx (Pablo Baptisto)	64.0	X			
128	2.		64.0			X	
СНИКИТ КИК	1.	Rosemary Lopez	84.5		x		X
169	2.	(Anita C. Clark) Harriet Toro (Marvin J. Thomas)	84.5		X		
TOTALS			1640.0	550.0	760.5	329.5	01