## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Judges Pro Tempore of the Tohono O'odham Courts)

RES. NO. 107-89

2 years

1 year

	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council is empowered by Article VII,
1	,	Section 4 of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham
2		
3		Nation to appoint judges of the Tohono O'odham Courts;
4		and
5	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council did, by Ordinance No. $01-89$ ,
6		Chapter II, authorize the appointment of judges pro
7		tempore to the Tohono O'odham Courts upon the recom-
8	, The state of the	mendation of the Chief Judge; and
9	WHEREAS,	the Chief Judge has submitted the names of attorneys
10		qualified pursuant to 2-103 of Ordinance No. 01-89 and
		recommended their appointment as judges pro tempore of
11		the Tohono O'odham Courts; and
12	MUEDEVO	the Judiciary Committee is charged with the responsi-
13	WHEREAS,	
14		bility to review the qualifications of applicants for
15		appointment as judges and to make recommendations to the
16		Legislative Council for appointments; and
17	WHEREAS,	the Judiciary Committee has reviewed the qualifications
18		of the applicants submitted by the Chief Judge and finds
19		them to be qualified by temperament, education and
20		experience to be appointed as judges pro tempore of the
21		Tohono O'odham Courts, and does recommend their appoint-
22	7 5	ments as judges pro tempore.
23	NOW, THE	REFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative
		Council that it does accept the recommendations of the
24		Judiciary Committee and hereby appoints the following
25		
26		named persons as judges pro tempore of the Tohono
27		O'odham Courts, for terms set forth next to their
28		respective names, to wit:
29		Claudeen Bates Arthur 2 years
30	8	Raymond Austin1year Robert Alan Hershey 1 year
31		Gary Thomas 2 years
32	- *	Steve Titla 2 years
-		Rob Williams 2 years

Larry Kee Yazzie

(Appointing Judges Pro Tempore of the Tohono O'odham Courts) Page Two (2) BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the appointments of the foregoing 1 named persons shall become effective on May 1, 1989. 2 The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the 18th day of April, 1989 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1,640.0 for; -0- against; -0not voting; and 03 absent, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 4 of Article VIII of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986, and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant 3 5 6 Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). 7 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 8 9 Harriet Toro, Legislative Chairperson 10 20 day of Cipu 11 ATTEST: 12 Teresa M. Choyguha Regislative Secretary
20th day of April , 1989. 13 14 15 Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the 20 day of 1989, at 10:33 o'clock, A.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the 16 17 Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of 18 submittal. 19 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 20 21 Harriet Toro, Legislative Chairperson 22 23 APPROVED ) on the 25 day of (Mul [ ] DISAPPROVED ) at 8:25 o'clock, 24 25 26 ANGELO J. JOAQUÍN, SR., TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION 27 Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the 25th day of 28 29 , 19 89, at 9:03 o'clock, A,M. 30 31 Teresa M. Choyguha 32 Legislative Secretary

RES. NO. 107-89

MOVED:_	Tony	Felix	SUBJECT:	Appointing	Judges	Pro
---------	------	-------	----------	------------	--------	-----

SECOND: Kenneth Chico Tempore of the Tohono O'odham

DATE: April 18, 1989 Courts

RESOLUTION #107-89

DISTRICTS	REPRESENTATIVES	of votes	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
CHUKUT KUK	1. Rosita Ruiz (Rosemary Lopez)	84.5	x			
103.0	2. Harriet Toro	84.5	x			x
HICKIWAN 128.0	1. Lloyd Francisco (Eleanor Santos)	64.0	X			
	<ol> <li>Henry Ramon (Billy Manuel)</li> </ol>	64.0	X		-	
GU VO 117.0	1. Cross Antone (Juan Joe Cipriano)	58.5	Х	19.77		
	<ol> <li>Virgil Lewis (Roy Montana)</li> </ol>	58.5	X			
					1	i
SAN LUCY 85.0	1. John Reno	42.5	X			
	<ol> <li>Max Jose (Dewey Ortega)</li> </ol>	42.5	X			
PISINEMO 116.0	1. Edward Manuel (Alex Antone)	58.0	X			
	2. Johnson Jose	58.0	X			į
GU ACHI 158.0	1. Fernando Joaquin	79.0	X			
130.0	2. Percy Lopez	79.0	X			
BABOQUIVARI 241.0	1. Joann Garcia (Frances Miguel)	120.5	X			
	2. Kenneth Chico, Sr.	120.5	X			į
SAN XAVIER 126.0	1. Tony Felix (Carmelita Mattias)	63.0	X			
120.0	2. Eugene Enis (Michael Rios)	63.0	X			
SCHUK TOAK 105.0	1. (Frances Francisco)	52.5				x
103.0	2. Julia Carrillo (JoAnn Francisco)	52.5	X			
SELLS 257.0	1. Fred Stevens	128.5	X			
237.0	2. Andrew Patricio (Daniel Lopez)	128.5	x			
SIF OIDAK 138.0	1. Willard Juan, Sr. (Melissa Gregorio)	69.0	X			
130.0	2. Nicholas Jose (Letitia Garcia)	69.0	X			X
TO	TAL	1,640.0	1,640.0	-0-	-0-	03