DEFEATED

RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Rejection of membership applications)

RES. NO. 139-89

WHEREAS, applications for enrollment as members of the Tohono
O'Odham Nation has been filed by or on behalf of:

Christopher Jon Norris

Melissa A. Norris

Rozanne M. Norris

Vanessa L. Norris

whereas, the Enrollment Committee has reviewed the applications and has recommended that the applications be denied because the applicants failed to establish the following membership requirement(s): TOHONO O'ODHAM CONSTITUTION,

ARTICLE II, MEMBERSHIP - SECTION (1A) & (1B); and

WHEREAS, the applications has come on for hearing before this Council; and

whereas, the Enrollment Committee did serve written notice of its recommendation to reject the applications and of this hearing, as required by Section 2, Article VI of the Enrollment Ordinance, upon the person(s) who filed the application(s) and such person(s) were not present at this hearing; and

WHEREAS, the Tohono O'Odham Council has reviewed all of the evidence presented and from such evidence finds that the applicant(s) has failed to establish the foregoing membership requirements.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'Odham Council that it does hereby determine that the application(s) of:

Christopher Jon Norris

Melissa A. Norris

Rozanne M. Norris

Vanessa L. Norris

for enrollment as members of the Tohono O'odham Nation are hereby rejected.

1 2

4

3

5 6

7

8

10

11

12

13

14

15

1617

18

19

2021

22

2324

2526

27

28

29

30

31

32

RES. NO. $\frac{139-89}{\text{(Rejection of membership applications)}}$ Page Two (2)

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham

Nation shall issue a Certification of Final

Determination of rejection and that the Enrollment

Committee serve Notice of Rejection of the applications

in accordance with the provisions under section 1 and 2

Article IIII of the Enrollment Ordinance.

7 8

The foregoing resolution was DEFEATED by the Tohono O'odham Council on the 2nd. day of May, 1989, at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 128.5 for; 797.5 against; 556.0 not voting; and 158.0 (04) absent; pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article II and Section 1 (h) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986, and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).

Legislative Secretary

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Harriet Toro, Legislative Chairperson

ATTEST:

Teresa M. Choyguha,

SECOND:			ship applications			
DATE: May 2	2, 1989					
				RESOLUTION #139-89		
DISTRICTS	REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
CHUKUT KUK	1. Rosita Ruiz	84.5		x		
169.0	(Rosemary Lopez) 2. Harriet Toro ()	84.5		X		
HICKIWAN	1. Lloyd Francisco	64.0			X	
128.0	(Eleanor Santos) 2. Henry Ramon (Billy Manuel)	64.0			X	X
GU VO	1. Cross Antone	58.5			X	
117.0	(Juan Joe Cipriano) 2. Virgil Lewis (Roy Montana)	58.5			X	
SAN LUCY	1. John Reno	42.5		X		
85.0	2. Max Jose (Dewey Ortega)	42.5	-	X		
PISINEMO	1. Edward Manuel	58.0		X		
116.0	(Alex Antone) 2. Johnson Jose ()	58.0		X		
GU ACHI	1. Fernando Joaquin	79.0				X
158.0	2. Percy Lopez	79.0				X
BABOQUIVARI	1. Joann Garcia	120.5		X		
241.0	(Frances Miguel) 2. Kenneth Chico, Sr. (120.5			X	
SAN XAVIER	1. Tony Felix	63.0		X		
126.0	(Carmelita Mattias) 2. Eugene Enis (Michael Rios)	63.0		x		
SCHUK TOAK	1. Joseph Juan	52.5			X	
105.0	(Frances Francisco) 2. Julia Carrillo (JoAnn Francisco)	52.5		X		
SELLS	1. Fred Stevens	128.5	X			
257.0	2. Andrew Patricio (Daniel Lopez)	128.5		X		
SIF OIDAK	1. Willard Juan, Sr.	69.0			X	
138.0	(Melissa Gregorio) 2. Nicholas Jose (Letitia Garcia)	69.0			x	X
TOTAL		1,640.0	128.5	797.5	556.0	(4) 158.0

SUBJECT: Rejection of member-

MOVED: